Snerdware Support Center
Knowledgebase
Syncing isn't working ... is there a "master reset" I can use?
Top :

Article ID: 000030
Rating: 4.1 / 5.0 (16 votes)
Views: 1699

Problem:

I've used the Groupcal Uninstaller to uninstall and unregister from Sync Services then reinstalled Groupcal as per the "Read Before You Install" document, but I still can't get syncing to complete.

This step is more likely to help if any of the following are also true:

- a crash and/or one or more exceptions are logged in the Console application's window when a Groupcal sync is attempted

- you currently use, or previously used, iSync to sync one or more devices

- you currently use, or previously used, other applications (e.g., Entourage) that use Apple's Sync Services to sync information either with a device or with an application such as iCal or Address Book




Solution:

We've seen a percentage of cases where OS X's Sync Services data gets corrupted and needs to be reset.

The iSync application's preferences panel has a "Reset Sync History" button that corrects such situations ... BUT BEFORE YOU DO ANYTHING, read the remainder of this article!

Pressing iSync's "Reset Sync History" button not only resets data for the devices that are sync'd via Sync Services, but also tells OS X's Sync Services to "forget everything it knows about registered applications without unregistering them" (technically it puts them into "refresh mode") which causes Groupcal and, potentially, other applications to act as though they've never been sync'd.

If you are going to press iSync's "Reset Sync History" button, first make sure that ONE of the following is true:

- you are currently running Groupcal version 3.30 or newer ... if you're not, it's strongly recommended that you first update to the current version (while carefully following the instructions in the "Read Before You Install" document)!

- you first use the Groupcal Uninstaller to uninstall Groupcal, keeping your preference settings but unregistering with Sync Services (later, after pressing iSync's "Reset Sync History" button, you can re-install Groupcal)

While its effects should be benign, pressing iSync's "Reset Sync History" button will likely affect other applications and/or devices that use OS X's Sync Services. You should also understand the implications for those applications and/or devices before you proceed.



Rating
Did you find this article helpful?

Related Articles
Careful ... iSync operations can affect Groupcal syncing!
I've tried everything else but still can't successfully complete a sync operation ... what now?
My Free/Busy calendars in iCal stopped working after updating
I've installed a Groupcal 3 update and I am still having problems ... what now?
All-day events created in iCal show as "busy" in Exchange.
It's syncing but I'm not getting anything in iCal for a given calendar.
Where's the help/documentation for Groupcal 3?
I'm able to sync but not everything is syncing correctly ... what do I do now?
Things you should know about all-day events.
Regular syncing without the Groupcal application window.

Main Menu
Home
Open a Ticket
My Ticket History
Browse Knowledgebase
My Account

Login
 E-mail:
 Password:
Register | Forgot Password?

Knowledgebase
Search by keywords:

-or- Search by tags:

terms of service
privacy policy
contact

Copyright © 2003-2006
Snerdware, LLC.,
all rights reserved